Perfect Scrambled Eggs

My roommate in NYC showed me this video of Gordon Ramsay making perfect, velvety scrambled eggs.  It was pretty easy to replicated his results so this is definitely a great recipe!  I eat eggs a lot, I would even say they are my go to source for protein.  I get these amazing, huge eggs from my friends farm in Hinsdale, seriously, this place is chicken heaven.  So I was attrcted to the idea that scrambled eggs could be elevated to the sublime with a few tips on technique from a chef that knows food and chemistry, hmmm, sounds like someone else I know. Yeah, that would be my dad!

Perfectly scrambled!

Gordon Ramsay’s Perfect Scrambled Eggs Tips:
- Whisk the eggs only when they are in the pan.
- Give the eggs a break from the heat once they get going, so they can combine and avoid drying out.
- Season the eggs right at the end. If you season them in the beginning, the salt will break down the eggs and they will turn watery.

A little heat goes a long way, Ramsay works the eggs with a spatula on and off the burner til they're done.

Ingredients
(serves 2)

- 4 eggs
- 1/2 tbsp crème fraîche (substitute with fresh cream, thickened cream, heavy cream or sour cream.)
- small knob of butter
- chopped chives
- sea salt and freshly cracked pepper

Directions
1. Break eggs in a saucepan and add butter. Do not whisk the eggs or season them at this point.
2. Turn on the flame and whisk the eggs in the pan using the spatula.
3. Keep stirring the egg mixture, and as soon as it starts to thicken a little, get it off the heat and continue stirring.
4. Alternate between stirring the eggs while they are on and off the heat, repeat a few times (about 3-4) until the scrambled eggs are of the right consistency (creamy and fluffy).
5. Take the eggs off the heat, mix in crème fraîche to cool it down, season with salt and pepper and fold in some chopped chives.

This recipe is from Noob Cook, thanks for the great transcription of the video!


4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anita Wright
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 19:58:16

    That sounds awesome. I always overcook my eggs, but I won’t any more. I probably eat a dozen eggs a week……

    Reply

  2. Alexandra
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 20:52:51

    These look overcooked to me=) I like mine still moving on the plate.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 141 other followers

