Raw Bars with Cacao Nibs

These no bake, high-protein, high-fiber bars are based upon Melissa Diane Smith’s recipe for Amaretto Protein Bars in her book ‘Going Against the Grain’ and are easy to make.  Roasted cacao nibs add extra chocolately flavor without the sugar. These make a great snack, a healthy dessert or a breakfast on the go!

Ingredients:

2 cups raw almonds

1/2 cup flax meal (flax seeds ground in coffee/spice grinder)

1/2 cup shredded unsweetened coconut

1/2 cup unsalted almond butter

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup coconut oil

stevia to taste

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

1 cup cacao nibs

 Procedure:

Place almonds, flax meal, shredded coconut, almond butter and salt in a food processor and pulse to combine.  No need to pulverize everything, some big almond pieces add texture and crunch!

In a small sauce pan, melt the coconut oil over very low heat.

Remove the liquid coconut oil from stove and stir stevia, and vanilla into the oil.

Add the coconut oil mixture to the food processor and pulse until the ingredients form a coarse paste.

Press the mixture into an 8 x 8 glass baking dish

Chill in refrigerator for 1 hour, until mixture hardens.

Remove from refrigerator, cut into bars and serve or store.  These keep well in the freezer or refrigerator.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karen Salenius
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 17:55:58

    Hi,
    I am interested in the nutritional information for the almond bars.

    Reply

  2. Amy Huebner Health Coach
    Sep 24, 2010 @ 16:39:24

    Oh, good question! I will have to calculate myself since I can’t find any info from the original source for this recipe. Give me a week and I’ll get it done!

    Reply

  3. Amy Huebner Health Coach
    Sep 28, 2010 @ 15:33:51

    Here’s the nutrition information for the Almond Bars. This is based on cutting an 8 x 8 in glass pan into 25 squares. I did the calculating myself using http://www.nutritiondata.self.com which is a really useful site!

    Per bar there are 160 calories, 14.7 grams of fat, 2.5 grams of fiber, 2.2 grams net carbohydrates and 3.6 grams of protein.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: 2010 in review « The Candida Diaries
  5. Trackback: Peanut Butter Jelly Granola Bars « The Candida Diaries
  6. Trackback: Camping and Travel Food « The Candida Diaries
  7. Christina Bethke
    May 17, 2012 @ 17:45:36

    Hey Amy, when do you add the cocoa nibs in? Thanks

    Reply

  8. Amy Huebner Health Coach
    May 19, 2012 @ 13:51:23

    Christina, I add the nibs in at the very end so they don’t get chopped up too much. Hope you enjoy them!

    Reply

  9. Christina Bethke
    May 23, 2012 @ 13:40:36

    I didn’t have nibs, but I chopped up some bakers chocolate and put them in with the initial mix. Wow, I love these bars. Thanks so much for sharing this amazing recipe. They have been perfect to snack on during my vacation. I look forward to fining the nibs and using those in this recipe! Thanks again for sharing your recipes. Oh, and I also put coconut flakes on top and shaved more bakers chocolate on top. Loved them!

    Reply

  10. niki brown
    Jun 09, 2013 @ 15:33:40

    Thanks for this great recipe! I’ve made it a few times, and everyone loves it. Can you tell me how you could adjust this recipe so that it could be brought along on one’s travels? Would baking it at a really low temp (like 50 degrees celsius) for a long time help? I’d like to make it for our next holiday, but they just don’t stay together when they get warm. Thanks!!!

    Reply

    • Amy Huebner Health Coach
      Jun 10, 2013 @ 15:22:18

      Hi Niki,

      Happy to hear you like the recipe! The coconut oil does liquefy when it gets warm so I have kept mine, cut into servings in the freezer. They stay together longer when they start out frozen when we travel, especially when I keep them in the cooler. You could try baking them but I have not done that so…if you try it, let us know what happens!!

      Reply

  11. Trackback: Better Than Butterfingers | The Candida Diaries
  12. integratori alimentari per dimagrire
    Mar 08, 2014 @ 00:28:56

    I need to to thank you for this fantastic read!!
    I definitely enjoyed every bit of it. I have got you book-marked to
    check out new things you post…

    Reply

  13. Swamp Attack Hack iOS
    Jul 26, 2014 @ 19:07:01

    Howdy I am so delighted I found your weblog, I really
    found you by accident, whike I was looking on Digg for something
    else, Nonetheless I aam here now and wohld just like to say many thanks for
    a tremendous post aand a aall round thrilling blog
    (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through itt all
    at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time Iwill be
    back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the superb job.

    Reply

  14. www.pinterest.com
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:10:02

    Hey! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my
    new apple iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts!

    Carry on the great work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

