One Dish Meals: Healthy, Delicious and Easy

Baked Eggplant with Mushroom Tomato Sauce from Cheap, Healthy and Good

While doing some research for my friend Lizzy I came a cross a couple of sites filled with one pot meals which are the perfect answer to cooking once and having 3-4 complete meals with minimal clean up!  I’m a big fan of left overs because it means that the hour or two I spent in the kitchen on Sunday will result in my having meals to go through out the work week.  I usually like to grocery shop for 2-3 dishes on the weekend, spend a few hours cooking on Sunday and then have 3 homemade healthy options to bring to work for lunch or to heat up when I get home at dinner time, tired and hungry (and not in the mood to even think about cooking!)

The first site I like is called ‘Cheap, Healthy & Good’ Check out the recipe for Curried Lentil and Apple Dal.  I think it would go really well over some steamed greens for a super healthy, balanced meal.  Also, the recipe for Baked Eggplant with Mushroom Tomato Sauce is definitely on my list to try. I’m not sure what to make of the George Clooney poster boy pictures on this blog but hey, whatever gets you motived to cook!

The second site I found for one dish meals is Epicurious.  Several recipes really caught my attention: Spicy Two Bean Vegetarian Chili and Black Bean Chili with Butternut Squash and Swiss Chard, wow.

I know that these recipes are not necessarily low in carbohydrates, they are after all, supposed to be whole balanced meals all in one dish!  With a bit of imagination and substitution many of the one dish recipes on these two sites could be made to suit low carb diets.  Please post your alterstions and experiments and let us know what kind of one dish kitchen experiments you are up to!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lizzy
    Oct 13, 2010 @ 15:02:42

    Wurd to the muther!
    I can’t wait to go Trader Joe shopping with you!

    Reply

  2. Amy Huebner Health Coach
    Oct 13, 2010 @ 16:19:52

    Yes! I have an ‘info’ packet for you along with some ideas for meal planning. We can figure plenty of things out at the store and then I can come over and help you cook on Sunday! Can’t wait!

    Reply

  3. Healthy Diet Meals
    Sep 18, 2013 @ 03:53:13

    Admiring the dedication you put into your site and detailed information you provide.
    It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that
    isn’t the same unwanted rehashed material. Fantastic read!
    I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS
    feeds to my Google account.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

