Goddess Dressing: Vitamin C and Liver Detox

 

Goddess Dressing with Dandelion Greens and Baby Romain

 

Last night I was craving Green Goddess Dressing but, looking over my recipe posting I realized I didn’t have much on hand to make it and I was too hungry to go to the store.  So I searched around and found a recipe using the ingredients I was really wanting to eat; parsley, raw apple cider vinegar and tahini.   I ate mine over dandelion greens, the bitter flavor of the greens goes really well with this dressing.  Dandelion greens are great for supporting your liver and kidneys and the bitter taste encourages the release of digestive enzymes which aid in digestion.  Dandelion is high in Vitamin C, Iron and Calcium.  Parsley is also high in Vitamin C and great for liver and kidney support.  I have been doing a detox diet the past week and I think my liver was asking for more support.  I felt better after eating this light meal and my craving was totally satisfied.  Ah, the power of green food!

Here’s version two, more like the Annie’s Naturals Brand dressing that the San Fran original but just as tasty.

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup toasted sesame oil
  • 2/3 cup tahini
  • 1/4 cup cider vinegar plus 2 Tablespoons or more to taste
  • 2 tablespoons fresh squeezed lemon juice
  • salt, to taste at the end
  • 7 green onions, whole (scallions) or about 1/4 cup chopped white onion
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • 1 bunch parsley, with stems (this would be about 4 cups chopped)
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1/2 cup water (more or less, to taste)

Procedure:

  1. Combine all ingredients except water in a food processor or blender, blend well.
  2. Add water a little at a time, until the dressing reaches your desired consistency.  Taste and add more vinegar, salt, pepper, whatever you think it needs!
  3. Store refrigerated, 3-4 weeks.

 

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Nutritive Paste, Not Your Grandma’s Marmite « The Candida Diaries
  2. Trackback: Camping and Travel Food « The Candida Diaries

Leave a Reply

