Spaghetti Squash with Walnut Miso Topping

Sure, spagetti squash and homemade basil-y tomato sauce is delicious.  Unfortunately one thing that I know for sure is that tomatoes are too sweet for me right now.  Sometimes I can handle them, and now is not one of those times.  When there is more stress in my life, for good or ill, I always eat more conservatively.  So, instead of tomato sauce I make a walnut and chickpea miso topping, plus some raw pressed garlic, hot pepper flakes, a little oil and, yum, healthy comfort food!

Spaghetti squash with walnut miso, romano cheese and garlic.

First you’ve got to get your squash baked.  There are a few ways to do this.  I like to hack my squash in half lengthwise, scoop out the seeds and fibers, oil the inside and bake the halves skin side up at 350 for about 30-45 minutes.  I know they are done when given a push, the skin gives a little.  Also, when I try to fork out the spaghetti like strands, they should come out without much effort.

Using a fork to pull out the strands of cooked squash.

Be careful not to over cook this squash, the strands will lose their slightly crunchy sweet individuality and turn into a mushy mass.  If you want to read up on the various ways to cook spaghetti squash, here are a few suggestions, with pictures!  And if you are interested in the nutritional profile for spaghetti squash, here it is!

For the walnut miso topping I use my Cuisinart.  The ratio is about 1/4 cup of walnuts to 1 1/2 teaspoons miso.  I’m allergic to soy so I found some chickpea miso at my co-op and it’s really tasty.  Miso is a fermented food with some great health benefits like being high in minerals, good for your digestive system and boosting immunity.

Adding miso to the walnuts in the Cuisinart.

So put your walnuts and your miso of choice, I used 1/2 cup nuts and about 3 1/2 teaspoons of miso, into your Cuisinart.  Pulse until it becomes a slightly sticky, crumblely mixture.  Taste for salt and add more miso if necessary.

This is a yummy addition to salads as well.

Once your squash is baked and cooled a bit, scrape out the spaghetti like strands.  Mix with a little olive oil, hot pepper flakes, pressed raw garlic (I use one whole clove per serving, it’s a great pathogen fighter, colds, flu, candida and vampires beware!)  And finally top with some walnut miso crumble.  If you have any fresh parsly, basil or oregano, add that too.  There you have it, healthy comfort food!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Nutritive Paste, Not Your Grandma’s Marmite « The Candida Diaries
  2. guest
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 00:44:13

    I am starting to explore more a more vegetable-focused diet and made this for myself for lunch today. It was delicious! I especially liked the red pepper flakes and garlic mixed with the squash. All the flavors were lovely together. Thank you for sharing and I’ll look forward to trying more of your recipes in the future.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Spaghetti Squash Carbonara « The Candida Diaries
  4. Whatami?
    Apr 06, 2014 @ 23:59:07

    Thank you for the great information. Your recipes look great. Just found out about spaghetti squash last week at the farmer’s market here. It’s delicious. I’m a 45 year old Italian woman from New Yawk. Lately, The more I detox my liver and gallbladder, the less I can tolerate wheat pasta. Have been reading EAting Alive by Dr. John Matsen. It was written in 1983. I live under a rock, it’s safe there. Learning about this squash was a Godsend. Wow. I just stood up outside my rock because I heard a thousand doors open. This gourd is going to be a staple in my gut. I mean my diet. My head is getting less foggy. I have so much energy and I feel like a 5 year old sometimes, but now I have a reason to bounce off the walls in crouching tiger fashion. Yes Grandpa, I am going dancing tonight and no, I don’t have ants in my pants. They’re out chasing sugar and wheat crumbs in someone else’s lap now. Thank Goodness. Thank you again. You made me rejoice. Btw, david wilcock talked about the development of the weaponization of wheat in the 50s (maybe earlier). It was meant to kill people in their 60s and depopulate the planet. A few of the scientists were murdered because they tried to divulge this to get it off their conscience. Well, those goons who devised this evil plot would have gotten away with it if weren’t for us kids waking up. Keep up the good work. Muchos blessingos!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

