Comfort Food: Leeks, Eggs and Bacon

Lovely leeks from my dad's garden last summer!

I just got back from a week in New York City, lots of walking and dancing and not nearly enough sleep.  Today I kinda feel like I have a travel hangover and I know just what I want need….comfort food!

I started with the last of the leeks from my dad’s garden last summer and some fat I trimmed off of a piece of pork.  I sliced the leeks thinly and added them, about 3-4 cups raw, to my cast iron skillet with about 1 Tablespoon pork fat and 2 Tablespoons butter.  I salted the leeks lightly and turned the heat to medium.

Cooking the leeks in pork fat trimmings and butter, guaranteed to be delicious.

I stirred occasionally, letting the leeks cook down and get a little bit browned.  While the leeks cooked I started a few pieces of thick cut bacon from a local farm in another skillet.  When the bacon was done I removed it from the pan and turned up the heat to fry a couple of eggs, also from a local farmer, in the bacon fat.

Eggs fried in bacon fat, leeks and of course, bacon, all locally grown and raised, a self-righteous meal if I've ever seen one!

And then I ate it, all of it, and it was freakin’ good. I know we don’t think of pork let alone bacon and lard as health foods but here’s a little fact to help you think differently:  pigs that graze in the forest on fallen fruits and acorns produce fat that’s actually healthy.  They turn the good fats in the acorns into good piggie fat, fat that’s full of omegas, very similar to the fat from nuts and seeds, imagine that!  I always buy local pork from farmers I trust.  This meat tastes amazing, is good for me and I know that animal was treated with respect, lived happily off the land and killed humanely.  I know this because I’ve talked with the farmer and visited the farm!

I don’t eat meat that often and when I do it’s usually because I need some strong, grounded energy.  This meal gave me exactly what I was looking for: green veggies, healthy, happy protein, plenty of energy and a full belly.  I don’t recommend eating this all the time but once in a while, it’s just right.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Comfort Food – Bacon, Eggs and Leeks « The Un-Candida Journey

Leave a Reply

