Less Fruity, More Veggie Waldorf Salad

Last night I chose to go for a run rather than drive to our garden to pick food for dinner.  We have not bought any produce since the beginning of the summer so I’ve been getting creative with using what we’ve grown.  The brussels sprouts are coming in and Dana and I ate the first round on Sunday night, sautéed with bacon to crispy delicious perfection!  Somehow we managed to blow through a whole grocery bag full of kale in less than two days so last night our dinner vegetable choices were limited to carrots and cucumbers.  While I ran I mulled over my possible dinner options and started thinking about the Waldorf salads I used to make with my grandmother: crisp apples, crunchy walnuts and sweet grapes in a creamy lemony dressing.  It used to be one of my favorites, I would sometimes make it with yogurt and turn it into more of a sweet breakfast or snack rather than a salad served over lettuce.  When I got home I decided to make a veggie version: crisp cucumbers in place of the apples, shredded carrots for sweetness instead of grapes and a mayonnaise dressing with lemon juice and some crumbled blue cheese.  I would have used  celery, which is called for in most versions, but we didn’t grow any this year.  Dana and I split this for dinner and I hope you find my veggie version of a Waldorf salad as filling as we did.

A seriously filling salad thanks to walnuts and blue cheese and fresh veggies from our garden.

Ingredients:

about 1 cup shredded carrot

2 medium cucumbers, chopped into small bite sized pieces

2 stalks celery, chopped into small bite sized pieces

1/2 cup walnut pieces

1/3 cup crumbled blue cheese

For the dressing:

3 Tablespoons mayonnaise

1 Tablespoon lemon juice (I used bottled lemon juice, if you have a lemon, zest it for extra lemon flavor)

salt and pepper to taste

Procedure:

Prep the veggies and add them to a large bowl with the walnut pieces and crumbled cheese.

Whisk the mayo and lemon juice with salt and cracked black pepper.  Add some lemon zest if you’ve got it.

Mix the dressing in with the rest of the ingredients and enjoy!  This will be good the next day, if you have any left over.

Leave a Reply

