One Hour in the Kitchen: Roasted Brussels Sprouts, Eggplant Spread and Flax Bread

It’s been a busy couple of weeks, much busier than I like quite frankly and I was happy to have an hour free this morning to do some cooking.  It’s amazing how much one lady can do in one hour in the kitchen.  I was most interested in roasting some of the brussels sprouts from our garden.  Usually I make them in the skillet with bacon, but in times of baby cabbages and no bacon, there must be a delightful alternative.

From garden to bag to bowl, not a lot of prep work to do for home-grown brussels sprouts.

Last week I got some roasted sprouts from The Old Creamery in Cummington which is now carrying our Fire Cider!  The sprouts were the perfect snack and here’s my version of …

Roasted Brussels Sprouts:

Brussels sprouts, ends trimmed, cut in half lengthwise

Vinegar: I used balsamic on one half and made another batch with half tamari and half apple cider vinegar, both tasted great: a little tangy, a little sweet and a bit salty.  If you are on a strict Candida diet use just the apple cider vinegar.

Olive oil to coat the sprouts

Salt

Procedure:

Set your oven to 375 and prep the sprouts.  Get out a baking sheet and toss the sprouts on the pan with enough olive oil to coat them.  Sprinkle with your choice of vinegar, and toss them again with a little salt.  Arrange them cut side down and put the tray in the oven to bake for about 15 minutes.  The oven doesn’t have to be totally up to temperature when you put the sprouts in.

Balsamic roasted sprouts hot from the oven.

Roast until browned well on both sides.  If the sprouts start to get soft or are cooking too quickly without browning you can finish crisping them up under the broiler for a minute or two.  You want them to be crispy on the outside with a bit of crunch left inside as well!

Since I had the oven on and the sprouts were cooking, I sliced the two small eggplants Hari and Ingrid brought us from their garden.  Again, this is a simple roasting recipe and works for any quantity.

Slice the eggplants in half, coat the cut side with olive oil, sprinkle with salt and place them on baking sheets to roast.  I put mine in cut side down, then flipped them after about 12 minutes to cook cut side up for another 12-15 minutes.  I can’t actually recall how long they were in the oven for.   The cooking time will vary depending on how big your eggplants are.  So, my advice, however glib it may sound, is to cook them til they are done!  As in, nicely browned and totally soft all the way through.

Roasted eggplant makes a great spread for flax bread.

The eggplants were in the oven, the sprouts were out and I whipped together some flax bread dough.  I have updated my recipe to reflect my new way of making flax bread:  I grease a large sheet pan with butter and then use my hands to spread it evenly from edge to edge.  The result is 15 even pieces of flax bread which I use to make sandwiches or to eat things like….

Roasted Eggplant Spread:

Roasted eggplant, scooped out of the skin.

Olive oil

Mashed garlic

Paprika and Salt to taste

Procedure:

Scrape the eggplant flesh into a bowl or, if you have a lot, it would be worth it to get your Cuisinart out.

Add a splash of olive oil, a clove or two of mashed garlic, some salt and paprika.  I love smoked, hot paprika for this dish.

Mix, mash or whip everything together in your Cuisinart.

Enjoy with flax bread and keep the left overs in the fridge!

My new way to make flax bread using a large sheet pan.

Well, that’s it for my hour in the kitchen.  I have a big bowl full of roasted Brussels sprouts which are delicious cold or hot and plenty of flax bread and eggplant spread for sandwiches this week.  Time well spent, and now, back to work!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kara Goldsborough
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 18:21:43

    Those brussel sprouts look great! Never thought I’d say that before 🙂

    Reply

  2. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 00:47:08

    I am a huge fan of brussels sprouts and can’t wait to roast them. Great post.

    Reply

  3. Mary
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 23:39:35

    So glad you’re in the Creamery ~ We sang your praises to the max!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

