A Few Must Read Books

Here are three books that I recommend to my health coaching clients and that I find myself coming back to again and again.  The first book looks like a cheesy drug store diet book but it’s full of fascinating information about the dangerous effects of consuming too much sugar.  Tired?  Bloated? Always hungry and can’t seem to kick those sugar cravings?  Got achy joints, depression and blotchy skin prone to breakouts?  

You need to read ‘Sugar Blues’ by William Duffy.  It is currently selling from 35 cents on Amazon and it’s totally worth the investment.  A quote from one of my clients who I helped to finally kick her sugar habit for good, “Sugar is like rust in your body, now that I don’t eat it I can’t see how I would ever put such a damaging substance in my body again.”  Well said!

My next recommendation is called “The Psychic Pathway: Reawakening the Voice of Your Soul” by Sonia Choquette, Phd. Don’t let the title scare you, I think many of us have an off reaction to the word ‘psychic’ calling up images of mysterious women and their crystal balls.  Instead, think about your gut instinct, your intuition or anytime you’ve ever heard that voice of wisdom in your head and thankfully followed it.  You know you’ve got the same brain cells in your gut that you’ve got in your head, right?!  This book is a meditation guide and a guide to getting back in touch with and receptive to, your inner voice.  You know what’s best for you, better than anyone else ever will.  So why not deepen your self awareness?  

And my last book recommendation for today is called “The Power of Now: A Guide to Spiritual Enlightenment”by Eckhart Tolle.  An important part of a healthy and balanced life is a fulfilling spiritual practice and this book can help you to start or deepen whatever spiritual path you have chosen.  This is a practical guide that you can begin to use immediately.  I read this for the first time when I was feeling very stuck and frustrated by what seemed like an all consuming illness.  It really helped me to gain new insights and perspectives and significantly helped to reduce my feelings of frustration.  The information in this book perfectly compliments Sonia Choquette’s workbook and is something I have returned to many times.

The time is always NOW!

Happy reading!  And, if you want to reward yourself for books well read, check out the movie (also a book of the same title) “What The Bleep Do We Know?!”  It’s a mind bender of the best kind!

Leave a Reply

