Osso Bucco with Carrots, Cabbage and Onion

Pork and cabbage, how much more New England can dinner get?

This was actually a lot easier than I thought it would be when I asked James about the pork shanks in the case at The Meat Market.  I had not planned on making osso bucco for dinner (it sounds a bit intimidating, right?!) but accidentally defrosted this instead of the pork chops I’d bought at the same time!  As with many of my culinary discoveries, I was hungry and had to work with what was on hand.  I’m glad I did, osso bucco made with pork shanks is amazingly delicious and easy, it just takes some time.

At 5:30 in the evening I heated up my smaller cast iron skillet, lightly oiled and browned each side of the pork shank for a minute or two.  Then I added a couple frozen cubs of homemade stock (from our Thanksgiving turkey, still giving!) and a healthy 1/2 cup of red wine along with some carrots and onion slices.  I put the top from our creuset (any oven safe lid will do) and put the whole thing in the oven.  I set the oven to 300 and the timer for an hour.

At one hour the meat was thoroughly cooked but not falling apart.  Another hour and it was perfect, the sauce had reduced, the veggies were cooked and the meat was super tender, no knives necessary.

About 10 minutes before the skillet came out of the oven I chopped a bit of onion and sautéed it in butter with cumin and salt.  Added some shredded cabbage and cook it til it was wilted.

Next time, we'll definitely need one for each of us!

The cooked cabbage went into the cast iron pan with the reduced stock/wine/pork juices after we served the osso bucco and the veggies.  It wasn’t a ‘quick meal’ but it really didn’t take much time or effort in the kitchen.  And it was super flavorful, a great meal to make if you want to impress and a have a few hours before you want to eat!

Leave a Reply

