Camping and Travel Food

It has been a non stop couple of weeks, whew!  We have been to the New Amsterdam Market in NYC the past two Sundays and in between Brian, Dana and I have been busy making more Fire Cider.

Thanks to the Greenfield CDC and Katalyst Kombucha, making Fire Cider has gotten a whole lot easier, so we are making a whole lot more!

Tomorrow at 6 am Dana and I are driving to Cape Hatteras, NC for a week at the beach with our neighbors!  I don’t like to be so busy but a weeks vacation seems worth the too-much-to-do-in-too-little-time crunch.  Yesterday and today I have been making food for our trip: 3 nights of camping ocean side in the state forest and the rest of the week sharing a beach house with our friends.  I know that we need to eat plenty of lively greens to keep us alert and awake for the drive so I made a cabbage coleslaw type salad and then my version of a raw chard salad.   I bought the chard salad at the Berkshire Co-op on Saturday as we headed out of town for 30 hours to NYC and back and based my recipe on their ingredient list.

Here’s my version of RAWH Chard Salad:

Chopped chard and/or spinach (I just used chard because that’s what we’ve got!)

and one grated carrot…

Tossed with a mixture of:

Lemon juice, olive oil, one mashed garlic clove, sea salt, hot pepper or chopped fresh jalapeno and dried oregano

Top with walnut pieces and toasted sunflower seeds

Mix and eat!  Great road food as it gets better with time.

RAWH Chard Salad, thanks to Berkshire Co-op for the inspiration and that awesome green juice you made for me!

Now here’s the rest of what I made up in advance:

My weekly yogurt, I love it too much not to take it with me!

Some flax bread to go with all the yummy cheese we traded Fire Cider for at the market on Sunday.

Lots of avocados and garlic!

A frozen 2 liter bottle of: Aloe juice, fresh ginger juice, lemon and the juice from 1/2 a grapefruit with stevia to sweeten.  The frozen juice will help keep our cooler cool during the drive and my tummy happy during the week.

I also made these bars and packed a bunch of different kinds of nuts and sunflower seeds.

And I made two salad dressings: Green Goddess and Cilantro Pepita, they both go well with fresh veggies or those boxes of spring mix you can find at pretty much every grocery store.

Oh yeah and Leahey Farm chorizo and hot Italian sausage which will be awesome on the grill.  Plus smokey bacon, farm fresh eggs and chopped cabbage because camping is no time to skimp on breakfast!

Well, aside from making enough food for the cats while we are away I think I’m done in the kitchen.  Time to round up the sunscreen!  I’ll post some pictures from our adventures in outdoor, seaside cooking soon!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. healthyfamilyquest
    May 11, 2012 @ 04:06:05

    Congratulations, Amy! Healthy Family Quest has nominated your blot for a Liebster Award. Check out the details at: http://healthyfamilyquest.com/2012/05/10/healthy-family-quest-scores-prestigious-liebster-award/
    Please pass it forward! And keep up the great writing.
    Kato

    Reply

Leave a Reply

