Dressing Up

This past weekend Dana and I followed our friends Mike and Becca to Falmouth on Cape Cod for the Harborside Music Festival; we sold Fire Cider and enjoyed the music, they silk screened tee shirts to go, you don’t see that everyday!

Mike silk screening tee shirts for his nephews, the ones they were wearing!

As part of our four days on the road, we drove to Springfield where we went to another Big E meeting; we are going to be exhibiting at the Massachusetts building for sure, we just have to figure out the dates.  From Springfield we went to Boston and got a chance to get out on the water, it helps when your sister is a sailing instructor!

Captain Elise with Dana, showing off her skills and the coolest Coast Guard approved P.F.D.’s

From Boston we drove to Cape Cod for the Festival and then back home to Pittsfield.  Dana and I were fairly well prepared as far as food goes but had to rely on some local grocery stores from time to time.  It is definitely more challenging getting enough green veggies to eat while on the road.  One of my favorite things to do is buy a box of spinach, slice up an avocado and add dressing- my kind of fast food.  We forgot to bring salad dressing so decided to buy some Annie’s Goddess dressing.  This used to be my favorite but I haven’t bought any in a long time.  You know me, I hardly ever buy something I can make myself so I was kinda looking forward to this but it was…disappointing.  Homemade is the way to go.  Not only because it tastes better but it’s fresher, has no ‘natural flavors’ or other mysterious ingredients in it and is way more cost effective.  So, here are some salad dressing ideas you can make in just a few minutes and have on hand for days.

Fresh Herb Dressing

I have been making variations of this all summer since we have lots and lots of parsley, basil and cilantro in our garden. Herbs are so easy to grow, they just need a sunny windowsill and some water.  Grow your own and skip the high priced packaged bundles in the store.

Chop up a handful or more of your choice of herb, feel free to mix them up too!

Use a ratio of 3 to 1 Olive oil to vinegar, Apple Cider Vinegar if you are on a strict Candida elimination diet, otherwise red wine vinegar is a good choice.

Add salt to taste, a mashed clove of garlic (this will help preserve the dressing if you want to save some for later in the week) and pepper, black or red hot, to taste.

Mix well, use a wand blender if you want a smoother, emulsified dressing.  Taste and add more of the above ingredients until the dressing is flavored to your liking.

Basil Balsamic

Olive oil, balsamic vinegar, chopped basil, parsley, a pinch of dried or fresh oregano and garlic.  Salt to taste. Hot pepper optional.

Creamy Tahini Dressing

Start with a couple of heaping spoonfuls of Tahini (sesame seed butter) and mix with some sesame oil or olive oil.

Add apple cider vinegar and salt to taste.

Add your choice of one of the following combinations:

1. chopped cilantro, lime juice, chipolte pepper

2. minced ginger, chopped parsley, mashed garlic clove

Fire Cider Dressing

Mix 3 to 1 Olive oil to Fire Cider, salt to taste, a couple teaspoons of spicy Dijon mustard and mix well to emulsify.  Add a mashed clove of garlic for extra health booting properties!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rina
    Oct 02, 2012 @ 05:24:12

    We’re about to embark on a lifestyle change to get rid of the candida overgrowth in our family. I’ve bee doing lots of research but there is a lot of conflicting info about foods to eat & not eat. I see here that you use Balsamic Vinegar which I thought isn’t allowed. I thought the only vinegar allowed is Apple Cider. Also I thought that beans are taboo yet I see some of your recipes allow tofu but isn’t it made from soy beans? Can you help clear up some of the confusion. Where can I find the true definitive list of foods to avoid? Thanks for your help.

    Reply

    • Amy Huebner Health Coach
      Oct 02, 2012 @ 13:01:24

      Hi Rina,

      My recipes sometimes include foods that are not for those on a strict candida elimination diet. Use Apple Cider Vinegar until you feel like the yeast is back in balance. Then small amounts of other vinegar’s, legumes, etc, can slowly be introduced back into your diet. The most important thing to remember is that sugars and carbohydrates feed the Candida. Initially I limited my total carbohydrate count (minus the fiber!) to between 20-40 grams per day which meant lots of green veggies, high quality fats, protein, some nuts and seeds. Soy beans, edamame, are beans but they have a lot of protein, so check the nutrition information to see if the carbohydrate count will fit within the diet you are on. I am allergic to soy but some of my coaching clients that want to maintain a mostly animal free diet will include some whole soy beans and tempeh in their diets. I also encourage you to modify my recipes to fit what works for your body, since some of my recipes are higher in carbohydrates, for those who are past the initial detox stage and have been able to expand their diet.

      Reply

  2. Buy Twitter Followers Fast Cheap
    Jul 21, 2014 @ 15:38:48

    Very great post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wanted to
    mention that I have really enjoyed browsing your weblog posts.

    In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I am hoping yoou
    wite once more ery soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

