One Cup vs 65 Pounds of Garbage

I have been thinking about writing on the subject of menstrual cups for a while when I came across a blog post on the subject by my friend Crispina ffrench.  Why rewrite what has already been so well written about?!  Her post follows these facts I gathered to get you thinking:

* Over 12 BILLION pads and tampons are USED ONCE and disposed of annually, adding to environmental pollution.  This statistic is a few years old so it has gone up, how much, I’m not sure.  But I am happy to not be adding to it!

* An average woman throws away 250 to 300 pounds of tampons, pads and applicators in her lifetime. The great majority of these end up in landfills, or as something the sewage treatment plants must deal with.

The Keeper in this photo is made from rubber and I can tell you it is NOT my first choice. In fact the company may not even be in business anymore! But the graphic is great and their website is still up with helpful, though somewhat dated, information.

ReConsumerEyes – Menstrual Cups

by Crispina ffrench

A range of brands and options, all worth the minimal investment!

‘I hesitated a little to write this column, based on the intimate subject matter and the normally all-encompassing tone of this column.  When thinking about it, I was compelled to share this info as it was a real life changer for me.

An alternative to tampons and pads, menstrual cups fit snuggly in the vagina catching menstrual blood in a tidy, reuseable way offering many benefits when compared to the use of disposable ‘feminine products’.  I have been using a Diva Cup (me too, first choice!) for years and felt like I had won a big prize at the discovery.  Costs range from $25 to $40, which might seem expensive, but when realizing cost savings every month one sees the financial pluses.  Years ago, I read somewhere that conventional tampons are treated with chemicals including asbestos to encourage bleeding.  Not sure if my recollection proves true, ingredients are not listed on packaging so who knows WHAT they are made of.  Think about what carrying around an chemical-treated plug in your most sensitive orifice is doing to your body. YIKES!  I opted for this cost saving and seemingly much healthier option for my flow.  If further questions come to mind, I discovered a blog on the subject and lots of other supportive information online.’

Thanks Crispina, I’m looking forward to doing some cozy holiday shopping with you soon!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. divinemessenger
    Oct 04, 2012 @ 21:37:17

    I am so glad I came across this blog today, thank you for sharing, I have never heard of a diva cup before. My periods are a nightmare and I hate tampons and pads so this is the best thing I have seen in a loooong time. I am going to rush out and buy one. Thanks!!!

    Reply

  2. Colleen Zack
    Oct 15, 2012 @ 05:12:33

    I love the Diva Cup! One of the best investments I have every made! I still need to use light day pads once and a while with my Diva Cup (I now get the organic cotton ones! I’m keeping chemicals away from there!). So, I’ve been using the Cup for about 2.5 years now and have probably bought 2 or 3 boxes of light day pads (with a count of only 16 per box). I can’t believe how much money I have saved and how easy it was to be significantly less wasteful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

