Creamy Leek and Mushroom Soup

Yesterday, on my way home at the end of my run, I saw the first few snowflakes of the season start to fall.  It seemed like the right time to make some hearty soup using the leeks my dad gave me a few days ago.  We didn’t grow any leeks this year so this was a nice treat.  My dad has leeks down to a science, he gets the edible parts of white or light green to grow very tall and so I ended up with a lot of leeks to cook with!

I based this soup on the leek soup I posted a few years ago.  I started with a few carrots, a handful of dried mushrooms, all the leeks, Reishi mushroom powder and dried Astragalus root, about a stick of butter, 1/2 cup of heavy cream, salt and pepper.  Here’s how I put it all together into a creamy, filling soup:

I got out our enamel pot, the Reishi mushroom powder, the heavy cream and some bonito flakes. I later decided bonito flakes were a bad idea. I also made my self some aloe ginger lemon juice, it’s important to re-hydrate after a long, cold run! I boiled water to soak my dried mushrooms in, you can see I used a bowl to weight them down in the measuring cup.

All the leeks trimmed and ready to chop, my mushrooms ready to mince along with the mushroom broth and a few carrots.

I started with the heat on medium low and added most of a stick of butter and all the sliced leeks, I’d say about 6-7 cups total. I salted the leeks and stirred to incorporate the butter.

The leeks took about 20 minutes to reduce down and soften.  Just keep the heat relatively low and stir occasionally so the fat doesn’t start to brown or burn.  Taste and make sure you have enough salt.

While the leeks cooked down I chopped the mushrooms and carrots and got out a piece of dried Astragalus to add to the broth. Just remember to remove the root before you puree the soup!

Add the carrots and mushrooms and saute for a few minutes more before adding the mushroom soaking water and any other stock you need.

At this point you can eat this sautéed veggie combination, with some black pepper and salt to taste as a compliment to some baked fish. Or you can add more broth, the heavy cream and puree it. I took some of the veggie saute out and then made soup with the rest!

I used a wand blender to puree the soup, you can also use a blender, just be sure to vent the top.   The soup ends up being a sort of beige color, it’s not very photogenic, especially given the unflattering overhead light in my kitchen.  What it lacks in looks it makes up for in flavor! I ended up with about two quart sized Ball jars full of soup, which are quickly disappearing.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Brussels Sprouts N Bacon « Fire Cider Recipes

Leave a Reply

