Wonder Bread?

My sister found this recipe on the blog BabyGranny under the name of “Oopsie Bread” and it seemed pretty strange so of course I had to try it.  And I had to change the recipe up just a bit.  The original recipe calls for cream cheese and I used goat chevre instead.

Here’s how my ‘Wonder Bread’ came out:  kinda egg-y, kinda awesome!  I used farm eggs that were, in retrospect, probably much larger than the ones used in the original recipe, our bread was more yellow and more egg-licious.  On Christmas morning Elise and I made fried egg and bacon breakfast sandwiches with this bread, which is really just baked eggs and cheese.  So it was more of a cheese with egg and egg and bacon sandwich.  I don’t need to tell you it was wicked yummy.

A 'wonder bread' breakfast snadwich with Mangalisa bacon and our neighbors eggs, Happy Christmas morning!

A ‘wonder bread’ breakfast sandwich with Mangalitsa bacon and our neighbors eggs, Happy Christmas morning!

Ingredients:

  • 3 eggs
  • 3 ounces goat chevre, cold
  • 1/8 teaspoon Cream of Tartar

Procedure for 8 rounds:

Pre-heat oven to 350 and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.

Separate the eggs.  Beat the egg whites and Cream of Tartar until stiff peaks form.

Beat egg yolks and cold cheese until semi-smooth.

Now gently fold the egg whites into the egg yolk mixture.

Mound or pipe mixture onto cookie sheet.  We spooned the batter onto the parchment making the rounds as uniform as possible.

Bake at 350 for about 20-30 minutes or until brown.

Please post what you did with your Wonder Bread!!  I’m thinking a burger would be good.  Or a sprout and avocado sandwich.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. margaret
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 01:48:45

    Ok I just made these and they were SO great!!!! I used them as burger buns and they really held up and I did not feel like I was missing the bread at all. Thank you so much!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

