Have Your Cake and Eat It Too

Yoshi checking out the Coconut Cake with Lemon Coconut Frosting

Dana found some coconut flour for me at Deals and Steals in Northampton a few days ago and I decided it was time to try making a cake.  Yes cake, similar to yellow cake, this coconut flour cake is moist and deliciously cakey, and you can eat it too!  No gluten, no dairy, no added sugar, it’s perfect for those with allergies, Candida and gluten intolerance.  The package of coconut flour had some helpful tips for baking and their website is also pretty informative. I found several similar recipes for cakes made with coconut flour from Nourished Kitchen and Nourishing Days and decided to go with a half recipe, with minor changes, from Nourished Kitchen and the frosting recipe from the second site.  I made the mistake of making the frosting while excitedly waiting for the cake to bake.  Sigh.  The frosting is easy but when it gets to the correct consistency it needs to go directly on a COMPLETELY cooled cake.  So start making the frosting after the cake has cooled. It still tasted just fine but it could have been a little more picture perfect and I think the frosting would have stuck to the cake better. Guess I’ll have to make another one, this time with lime and dark chocolate ganache!  I’ll post some variations soon.

Coconut Flour Cake: Ingredients

  • 6 large eggs or 5 HUGE eggs ( local, organic, free range, for chicken’s sake)
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • Stevia to taste
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon coconut extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon lemon extract
  • 1 cup coconut flour, plus extra for greasing the pan
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • a pinch unrefined sea salt
  • coconut oil, for greasing the pan

Coconut Flour Cake: Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Beat the eggs, one cup coconut milk and stevia together with vanilla, coconut and lemon extracts until smooth, creamy and uniform in both color and texture.  I didn’t have coconut extract so I used a bit more lemon and vanilla.  Use what you have, improvise what you don’t!
  3. Add the coconut flour, baking soda and unrefined sea salt into the mixture of eggs, stevia and extracts, and continue to beat until a smooth batter forms.  Taste and adjust for sweetness.
  4. Grease and flour an eight-inch cake tin.  I used a spring form pan and kept the cake on the bottom piece as a serving ‘dish’.
  5. Pour, or spoon, the cake batter into the greased and floured tin, shaking to even out the batter and smoothing it with the back of a spoon or with a rubber spatula.
  6. Bake in an oven preheated to 350 degrees Fahrenheit for about 35- 40 minutes, or until the cake separates from the sides of the tin and a toothpick inserted into the cake’s center comes out clean.
  7. Place the cake on a cooling rack. After the cake has cooled a bit, but is still warm, poke holes all over the top with a fork. Juice half a lemon right over the whole cake, making sure to evenly distribute the juice.
  8. Allow the cake to cool completely before frosting with the coconut frosting below.  This is important, the frosting will slide around instead of stick to the cake if the cake is still warm.  How do I know?  I ran out of time and hastily frosted an almost cooled cake.  It still tasted good but definitely lost some points on aesthetics.
  1. Cooling the cake, its still on the bottom of the spring form pan. I assaulted the top with a fork and squeezed a lemon over the cake for extra flavor. The holes from the fork will be covered by the frosting.

YIELD: one eight-inch cake.  Original recipe from Nourished Kitchen is doubled and makes 2 eight inch rounds, perfect for special occasion layer cakes!  Here’s the original recipe.

TIME: about five to ten minutes (active time), forty minutes (baking time), forty minutes to one hour (cooling time)

Nutrition Info (I did the calculation myself  using the nutrition info on the packages)  One 8 in cake, 16 slices, without frosting: Calories 95  Fat 5.6  Fiber 2.5  Carbohydrates 2  Protein 4

With Frosting: Calories 154  Fat 12 Fiber 2.5 Carbohydrates 2 Protein 4

Remember, the fat from coconut oil is good for you and helps combat Candida, and that’s just the beginning!

Coconut Lemon Frosting
Recipe notes: Be sure to melt your coconut oil in a glass bowl. I do this by putting the bowl over a small pan of simmering water or putting it in the hot oven for a few minutes.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup coconut oil, melted in a glass bowl
  • 9 drops of liquid stevia (alternatively, you could use a couple of teaspoons of raw honey or powdered stevia)
  • 1 packed teaspoon lemon zest (use an organic lemon other wise you’ll be zesting chemicals, gross)
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • pinch of salt

Directions

  1. Mix all ingredients into the warm coconut oil. You are now going to place the bowl into the freezer in order to cool it down. It is very important to check on it every couple of minutes to catch it before it gets too cold. You want to take it out of the freezer right when it starts to get cloudy.

    Mixing the ingredients in the warm coconut oil. After it has been in the freezer for 3 minutes start checking it frequently.

  2. At this point the cold bowl (and your cool kitchen) will continue to turn the liquid oil into a solid. Continue to whisk the frosting as it gets cloudier and cloudier and eventually turns into a whipped butter consistency. The idea is to get a bit of air into it. Once it is to a whipped (very soft) butter consistency plop it onto your cooled cake. Frost it very quickly before the coconut oil hardens. It will seem like a pretty thin layer of frosting, but it is just enough.   Original recipe with an alternate coconut cake recipe here.

    Whipping the frosting as soon as the oil starts to get cloudy (cool). Make sure to scrape the sides of the bowl while you whip the frosting together!

    And….there you are, having your cake and eating it too!

    No more cake-less birthdays!

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather Schorge
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 17:13:33

    Amy, this recipe sounds amazing and your cakes looks delicious! I love using different forms of coconut and I can’t wait to try coconut flour. Mmmm, thanks!

    Reply

  2. Recipe Chefs
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 21:04:35

    Excellent post thanks for sharing. I love sharing delicious recipes. Food is something we all can enjoy. Take care.

    Delicious Cod Recipe

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Vanilla Almond Pancakes with Lemon Curd « The Candida Diaries
  4. Trackback: Hot Chocolate Cookies « The Candida Diaries
  5. Christina Bethke
    Apr 19, 2012 @ 18:52:12

    Thank you for sharing all these recipes. It brings tears to my eyes because I’m very hungry right now, on Candida diet and this stuff looks soooo tasty! Bless you!

    Reply

  6. T
    Jun 22, 2012 @ 23:15:44

    Hi ..thank you for this recepie .. I made it today without the icing as I didn’t know where to find packaged lemon zest….. and it tasted good but it was a bit dry….is there anything that can be done to make it moist? …other than that it had a good flavour 🙂

    Reply

    • Amy Huebner Health Coach
      Jun 23, 2012 @ 12:56:56

      I have not heard of packaged lemon zest, I think fresh is best! Anyway, yes, the issue with cakes made from coconut flour is that if over baked or over floured they can be dry: the very high fiber content in the coconut flour tends to soak up much of the available moisture. So, a few things, cut back a bit on the coconut flour, add an extra egg (the eggs I get from our nearby farm are HUGE) and/or another table spoon of oil, or some milk (almond, soy, dairy). Also, be sure not to over bake, this will dry out even the most perfectly proportioned cake. Check it as it gets close to done, let it cool for 5 minutes in the pan when you take it out, the residual heat will continue to cook the cake just a bit!

      Reply

  7. T
    Jun 24, 2012 @ 23:17:10

    Oh..oppsie, I thought it said packaged, I see it says packed instead…. lol… Thanks for the tips, I think I will do all that you have suggested especially the eggs, … the cake is all gone now , I had help from my hubby… 🙂 I think this will become a regular snack for me…well maybe at least once a month because I am a bit lazy … = P

    Reply

  8. Healthbod
    Jan 25, 2013 @ 03:59:24

    I’ve just stumbled across your blog & this recipe! I’m desperately hoping the coconut flour & stevia won’t undo all my hard work with the Candida Diet – it looks so wonderful!! I’m off to give it a whirl…thank you, great blog! 🙂

    Reply

    • Amy Huebner Health Coach
      Jan 25, 2013 @ 16:08:08

      Coconut flour, like coconut milk and shredded coconut meat are all very healthy and perfectly suited to the Candida diet. Stevia is made from drying the leaves of a plant from South America, it’s very sweet with zero carbohydrates or sugars, enjoy them both!!

      Reply

  9. Jessica
    Feb 21, 2013 @ 04:01:42

    I made this with lime instead of lemon, even added some fresh lime juice to the icing and it was soooo delicious.

    Reply

  10. Crystal
    Mar 03, 2013 @ 20:14:00

    Hi Amy,
    Have you tried making this recipe into cupcakes? I was thinking that way I could freeze them and just have 1 when I need an indulgent treat! Also, I’ve used coconut flour a lot and know what a moisture sucker it is, but could I take a chance and replace 1/2 the eggs with flax or chia eggs, adding more milk or maybe applesauce to add moisture?

    Reply

    • Amy Huebner Health Coach
      Mar 04, 2013 @ 15:40:39

      Hi Crystal, yes, these make great cupcakes, just decrease the baking time! I have had good luck using ground flax whipped in water as an egg replacer and I think chia seeds would also work. I wouldn’t use applesauce myself since it’s so sweet but pumpkin puree works in the same way with very few carbohydrates. Let us know how it comes out!!

      Reply

  11. Crystal
    Mar 10, 2013 @ 23:29:30

    Update on “project cupcake”…so just in case my substitution attempt failed I halved the recipe and proceeded to make 8 muffins as opposed to the cake. Instead of the (now) 3 eggs, I used one organic, free range egg, 1 liquid egg white (from the carton) and 1 flax egg. I also added fresh lemon juice in place of the lemon extract and added about 1.5-2 TBSP additional coconut milk. The result: dry, fall apart cupcakes that stuck to the bottom of the muffin pan. (and yes, I oiled well with coconut oil, followed by coconut flour). Baked for about 25 mins. What I was left with was little half cupcakes, the flavour is great, but kind of a disaster. So my recommendation is follow Amy’s tried and tested recipe!!

    Reply

  12. Amy Huebner Health Coach
    Mar 13, 2013 @ 14:56:47

    Hi Crystal,

    Hmmm, perhaps they were just baked for too long? If they tasted good and were in part, edible, then it was not a total disaster! Baking with coconut flour means that things can get dry very quickly, so when baking, check early and often and take them out just before you think they are done! Thanks for the update!!

    Reply

  13. Heather
    Oct 25, 2013 @ 04:06:42

    I really seem to go along with the whole thing that is put into writing throughout “Have Your
    Cake and Eat It Too | The Candida Diaries”.

    Thank you for all of the actual advice.Thank you,Milford

    Reply

  14. Christina
    Jun 19, 2014 @ 21:14:55

    Is the coconut milk the canned coconut milk? I always wonder when I read recipes. This looks delicious! Can’t wait to make it. Just finishing week 4 of eating anti candida! My naturopath said no chocolate, not even cocoa, so I’m looking for something sweet. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment