Biscuits!

Gluten-Free, Sugar-Free Coconut Flour Biscuits

Hot from the oven!


Makes about 8-10 biscuits depending on size.

Preheat oven to 425 F.  Line a cookie sheet with parchment.

 Ingredients:
  • 1 Tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 shy cup almond milk
  • 6 Tbsp organic coconut oil or butter
  • 2 Tbsp  finely ground flax seeds
  • 1/2 tsp  baking powder (non-alumininum)
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp fine sea salt
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 2 Tbsp almond flour/finely ground almonds
1. Combine the dry ingredients (all but the first 4 ingredients) breaking up any lumps of coconut flour.  Cut the 6 tablespoons of coconut oil or butter into the dry ingredients until it’s an even mix of crumbly small pieces.
2. Whip the flax into about 1/4 cup of the almond milk until it’s very sticky, this will help hold the biscuits together.
Add the lemon juice and the rest of the almond milk to the flax mixture (can also use soy or dairy milk) and stir to combine.
3. Fold the liquid into the fat/flour dry mix.  The coconut flour will soak up a lot of liquid so mix quickly but gently and let it set for a moment before you start to form the biscuits.
4. I used a big spoon and my hands to shape the rounds.  You can use a measuring cup as well if you want to make sure they are all equal size, a 1/3 cup measure should work well.
5. I baked mine at 425 for about 17 minutes.  They will be nicely browned on top but be careful, these are very delicate until they have cooled completely.  I let mine cool  for about 20 minutes before eating/storing them!
    1. Biscuits with lemon curd, mmmm, breakfast!

      Serving suggestion, for dessert, breakfast or a snack, these biscuits go so perfectly with lemon curd and maybe a few wild blueberries.  Next week I’m making dinner for some friends and I think I will make a curry chicken pot pie with these biscuits as the topping.  What do you want to make with these versatile biscuits?

       

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Sunday Breakfast « The Candida Diaries
  2. Trackback: Wicked Good Jerk Chicken « The Candida Diaries
  3. Rachel
    Oct 27, 2012 @ 01:39:53

    I just made these biscuits (with butter) and they were amazing! I’ve been on this diet/lifestyle for about 2.5 months and this is the best grain free bread I’ve made! Thanks so much!

    Reply

  4. Tiffany
    Feb 04, 2014 @ 02:50:45

    What could I use to substitute almond flour in this and other recipes? I have an almond allergy.

    Reply

    • Amy Huebner Health Coach
      Feb 04, 2014 @ 12:34:43

      Hi Tiffany,
      You could try hazelnut flour, which you can grind up fine in a spice grinder using roasted nuts with the brown papery skins removed. I have other recipes that use coconut flour, like a pancake recipe! Let me know how the hazelnut flour biscuits turn out….I want to try that myself it sounds like the flavor will be really nice!

      Reply

  5. Tracey
    Mar 14, 2014 @ 15:20:02

    I was so excited to find your recipe. Have you made any modifications to it lately?
    My dry ingredients never ended up a crumbly mixture. I didn’t even put in all the tbs of coconut oil. It was a very smooth mixture. Either needed more dry ingredients or less oil. I added at least another 1/3 cup coconut flour. Baking them now. Hope they turn out!!

    Reply

    • Amy Huebner Health Coach
      Mar 19, 2014 @ 14:44:22

      HI Tracy, I did recently post “Buttermilk Biscuits” same recipe but using buttermilk and I really liked the way they came out. I’d suggest mixing up the dry ingredients and then using a pastry cutter to work in the bit of COLD butter or coconut oil. You don’t want the mixture to be smooth, you want pea sized meal that clumps together when pressed. The add the liguid, fold to combine and let sit, the coconut flour will soak up a lot of liquid! Let me know how yours came out, here’s the updated version with buttermilk: https://thecandidadiaries.wordpress.com/2014/03/11/buttermilk-biscuits/
      Cheers,
      Amy

      Reply

  6. Trackback: Jafakin’ Jerk Sauce | Fire Cider Recipes

Leave a comment